Dedication of Lateran Basilica


Dedication of Lateran Basilica is the residence of the Popes which was named the Lateran Palace was built by Lateranus Plautus, whom Nero put to death to seize his goods. It was given in the year 313 by Constantine the Great to Saint Miltiades, Pope, and was inhabited by his successors until 1308, when they moved to Avignon. The Lateran Basilica built by Constantine near the palace of the same name is the first Basilica of the West. Twelve councils, four of which were ecumenical, have assembled there, the first in 649, the last in 1512.


About Author

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Basilica of Saint John Lateran | CatholicSaints.Info

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.